Close

Support Global Voices

To stay independent, free, and sustainable, our community needs the help of friends and readers like you.

Donate now »

LIVE on March 9: Will Argentina's ‘green tide’ on abortion rights spread throughout Latin America?

Photo credits (L to R): Romina Navarro on Global Voices; Lara Va vía Wikimedia Commons (CC BY-SA 4.0); Juan Diez vía Wikimedia Commons (CC BY-SA 4.0).

The legalization of abortion in Argentina in December 2020 triggered a wave of debates on reproductive rights across Latin America. Several countries in the region impose a total ban on abortion; and in others where the practice has been fully or partially legalized, it faces strong backlash from pro-life groups.

Join us on March 9 for the latest in our Global Voices Insights live webinar series, where a panel will explore the impact of the Argentina decision on the rest of Latin America, and attempt to answer the question: Will Argentina's “green tide” spread throughout the region, changing laws and attitudes around abortion? 

The session, which will be conducted in Spanish and moderated by Melissa Vida, Global Voices’ regional editor for Latin America, starts at 6pm UTC (12pm Mexico City and Central America/1pm Bogotá/3pm Buenos Aires/7pm Madrid), and features the following:

  • Anette Eklund, translator and content creator, journalist, professor, activist and advocate for linguistic democracy and human rights; also a Global Voices contributor.
  • Vienna Herrera, multimedia reporter with the Honduras news outlet Contracorriente, focused on issues of gender, sexual and reproductive rights, extractivism, environment and power structures; also a member of the team of the project “Land of Resistants,” a finalist for the Premio Gabo 2020.
  • Gabriela Mesones Rojo, Venezuelan journalist specializing in gender and human rights, editorial coordinator of Caracas Chronicles and Cinco8; also a contributor and researcher on Global Voices’ Civic Media Observatory.
  • Giselle Carino, Argentine political scientist and activist, CEO of IPPFRHO (International Planned Parenthood Federation, Western Hemisphere Region), a growing feminist and progressive ecosystem of 26 local partner organizations, mostly from the South. Giselle's mission is to be a change agent and high-impact leader driving change toward gender equality throughout the global South.

The session is free of charge and open to the public, and will be live-streamed on Facebook Live, YouTube y Twitch.

We look forward to having you join us on March 9 at 6pm UTC (click this link to convert to your local time zone)!

Start the conversation

Authors, please log in »

Guidelines

  • All comments are reviewed by a moderator. Do not submit your comment more than once or it may be identified as spam.
  • Please treat others with respect. Comments containing hate speech, obscenity, and personal attacks will not be approved.

Receive great stories from around the world directly in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the best of Global Voices!

Submitted addresses will be confirmed by email, and used only to keep you up to date about Global Voices and our mission. See our Privacy Policy for details.

Newsletter powered by Mailchimp (Privacy Policy and Terms).

* = required field
Email Frequency



No thanks, show me the site