Gmail Now Offers 71 Languages, From Afrikaans to Zulu

A screenshot of Gmail's language options.

A screenshot of Gmail's language options.

Google has added 13 new languages to Gmail, bumping up the total languages available in the email service from 58 to 71. 

The new languages include Afrikaans, Zulu, Armenian, Azerbaijani (Azeri), Chinese (Hong Kong), French (Canada), Galician, Georgian, Khmer, Lao, Mongolian, Nepali, and Sinhala. The tech giant, which rolled out the changes on Tuesday, says Gmail now covers 94 percent of the world’s Internet population.

To compare, a quick count of the display language options for Yahoo's free email service puts their total at 69, while Microsoft's free lists 107.

Afrikaans and Zulu were already offered on Google's Search, Maps, Drive, Docs, and YouTube.

Start the conversation

Authors, please log in »


  • All comments are reviewed by a moderator. Do not submit your comment more than once or it may be identified as spam.
  • Please treat others with respect. Comments containing hate speech, obscenity, and personal attacks will not be approved.