- Global Voices - https://globalvoices.org -

RESULTS: Uganda's First Ever Social Media Awards

Categories: Sub-Saharan Africa, Uganda, Citizen Media, Technology

The first ever Uganda Social Media Awards (SMAs) [1] took place on 15 November 2013 at The Hub, Oasis Mall in Kampala, Uganda.

Social Media Awards 2013 banner.

Social Media Awards 2013 banner.

The objectives of the awards, which were organised by BluFlamingo [2], were:

The Uganda SMA’s (Social Media awards) is Uganda’s first event that seeks to bring together individuals and organizations that are at the frontline when it comes to using social media for entertainment, change, sharing of ideas, creating communities and talking to customers online.

The awards seek to reward those individuals and organizations that are making a concerted effort to harness the power of social media to engage and build communities online. From avid face-bookers to twitter personalities and passionate bloggers.

This first of a kind event will be held on November 15th 2013 and will bring together not just the digitally aware, but also corporate organizations at the forefront of new media and those who have contributed to the growth of social media in Uganda.

The winners of different categories were:

Best Entertainment website – BigEye [3]
Best Entertainment individual writer – Moses Serugo [4]
Best blogger – Beewol [5]

Corporate – MTN Uganda [6]

News & info company – NTV Uganda [7]
News & info individuals – Songa Stone [8]

Civil service – Kampala Capital City Authority [8]
Best innovation – Matatu [9]
Best customer care – Airtel Uganda [10]

Social justice – Barefoot lawyers Uganda [11]
Crisis management award – National Water and Sewerage Corporation [12]
Best media outlet print – The Red Pepper [13]

Best media outlet radio – Power FM [14]
Best media outlet TV – NTV Uganda [15]
Celebrity – Anne Kansiime [16]

Photography – Echwalu Photography [17]
Best social media campaign – 40 days & 40 smiles [18]
Judge’s choice – Proggie Uganda [19]

The winners were nominated through online public voting and later selected by a panel of five judges [20].