Donate today to keep Global Voices strong!

Our global community of volunteers work hard every day to bring you the world's underreported stories -- but we can't do it without your help. Support our editors, technology, and advocacy campaigns with a donation to Global Voices!

Donate now

See all those languages up there? We translate Global Voices stories to make the world's citizen media available to everyone.

Learn more about Lingua Translation  »

Spain: Catalonia's “Declaration of Sovereignty” Translated into 36 Languages

On January 23, 2013, amid rising tensions with the Spanish government, the regional parliament of Catalonia approved by majority vote a Declaration of Sovereignty [ca] — seen widely as a prelude to a referendum on independence, expected to be held by 2014. Thanks to a diverse team of collaborators, the online Catalan-language publication Vilaweb [ca] has been able to offer the document in thirty-six languages. It is now available in: Afrikaans, EnglishArabic, Aragonese, ArpetanAsturian, Croatian, DanishSlovenian, Spanish, EsperantoBasque, FrenchGalicianGalician-Portuguese, Greek, HebrewHungarian, ItalianKhmer, Luxembourgish, DutchNorwegianOccitan, Aranese Occitan, Portuguese, Brazilian Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Sardinian, Serbian (in both the Cyrillic and Latin alphabets), Swedish, Turkish, Ukranian and Urdu.

Receive great stories from around the world directly in your inbox.

Sign up to receive the best of Global Voices
* = required field
Email Frequency

No thanks, show me the site