· June, 2014

Stories about Ecuador from June, 2014

The Inca Road Is a New World Heritage Site

  23 June 2014

For the first time in the 40 years of World Heritage convention, six countries united to submit a joint application to designate a cultural site as world heritage. Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador and Peru requested that the Incan Road be included as a cultural heritage site. The announcement was made in...

Community Resistance in Ecuador

  3 June 2014

The website BallenitaSi.org lists [es] nine resisting communities in Ecuador that, “is going through one of the worse community-level crisis about mining and oil extraction all along the country”. One of such communities is Sarayaku, in Pastaza Province: Sarayaku es la comunidad que con mayor éxito ha podido defender su...